Never before have I spent so much film during a journey as in these three weeks. The report turned out to be accordingly comprehensive. Since many pictures became wider, accompanying comments had to be banned to a separate window (click on the "more" link if you'd rather read them). The pictures are in random order.

This time you can link directly to a particular picture, and there is also a more up-to-date map ;)

Start

The map is out of the Atlas universel de geographie physique, politique, statistique et mineralogique in six volumes by Philippe Vandermaelen. This monumental work was the first atlas of the world with all maps on the same scale (and a large scale at that - about one inch to 26 miles) and the first lithographed world atlas. If all the maps were joined together they would form a globe of 7.75 meters in diameter (such a globe was made in Brussels). The maps were published originally in parts of ten maps each, beginning in 1825 and ending in 1827. For many of the areas depicted, these maps are the largest scale maps made at the time, and the most detailed.

Not so for Ladakh though: the world known to Europeans ends at the Himalaya on this map from 1827; the vast empty area behind it is only spoiled by the presumable course of the Indus. The country would be surveyed for the first time twenty years later.

Map image © Cartography Associates

Ich glaube, noch nie auf meinen Reisen habe ich so viel Film verbraucht wie in diesen knapp drei Wochen. Der Bericht ist entsprechend umfangreich ausgefallen. Da viele Bilder etwas breiter geworden sind, wurden die meisten Kommentare in ein separates Fenster verbannt. Um sie trotzdem zu lesen, einfach auf den "mehr"-Link klicken. Die Reihenfolge der Bilder ist zufällig.

Diesmal ist es möglich, direkt zu den einzelnen Bildern zu verlinken, und es gibt auch eine aktuellere Karte ;)

Start

Die Karte stammt aus dem Atlas universel de geographie physique, politique, statistique et mineralogique in sechs Bänden von Philippe Vandermaelen. Dieses monumentale Werk war der erste Weltatlas mit dem gleichen Maßstab für alle Karten, und einem großen (1:1.641.836) dazu. Würden alle Karten daraus miteinander verbunden werden, würden sie einen Globus von 7,75 m Durchmesser bilden (ein solcher Globus wurde tatsächlich in Brüssel gebaut). Die Karten wurden ursprünglich in Sets aus je zehn Stück herausgebracht, zwischen 1825 und 1827. Für viele dargestellte Gebiete boten sie den größten Maßstab ihrer Zeit und waren die detailliertesten.

Nicht so für Ladakh: auf der Karte von 1827 endet die Europäern bekannte Welt am Himalaja; dahinter gähnt ein weißer Fleck, der nur vom vermuteten Lauf des Indus gestört wird. Das Gebiet wurde volle 20 Jahre später zum ersten Mal erkundet.

Kartenimage / map image © Cartography Associates